The Legend of the Capital
International Title
 Tokyo: The Last Megalopolis

Music By: Maki Ishii
Record Label: Polydor

Running Time: 33:35 Discs: 1
Release: 1987 CD Number: P33P-20138
The soundtrack for Akio Jissoji's Tokyo: The Last Megalopolis is sadly not the most memorable release. Composer Maki Ishii's music wasn't all that impressive in the feature itself, although tends to fare even worse as a stand alone experience. A couple of the tracks aren't bad, like "Construction" and "Destruction", but but not much really stands out. This CD is unusual for a Japanese release, though, in that the presentation is of the "extended album" tracks instead of presenting the music as it appears in the movie. As far as I can tell, this was actually the original source material that would be chopped up and used in the feature, as the production had a "music mixer" attached with it. This also means that some of the music contained on this release was not present in the main feature. Most of the movie's score is presented on this release, though, save a few themes like Gakutensoku's. What's very strange about this disc, though, is its release, which is only stated as "1987" on the case. However, I have heard some sources state that it was released as early as January of that year, although I have no way of verifying those reports. Regardless, it's interesting to see that the soundtrack was released far earlier than the 1988 movie was. Sadly, this CD is very short at a runtime of around 33 minutes, and appears to be identical in terms of music with the LP that was released.
- Anthony Romero 
  1. Prelude
  2. Earth Vein
  3. Construction
  4. Destruction
  5. Modernism
  6. Conflict
  7. Prayer