Spiriting Away of Sen and Chihiro - Soundtrack
International Title
 Spirited Away
Music By: Joe Hisaishi
Record Label: Tokuma Japan Communications
Running Time: 60:00 Discs: 1
Release: July 2001 CD Number: TKCA-72165
Anthony Romero
Joe Hisaishi's score for the Academy Award winning film Spirited Away is a treat from start to finish. The music here might not be as memorable in parts as Hisaishi's Princess Mononoke (1997), but his themes fit the film well and are very pleasant to listen to as standalone pieces as they often range more on the soothing side. "One Summer's Day", which opens the CD, is particularly nice, and conveying well the relaxing and carefree tone that the title would suggest before working into the more energetic start of the movie found in the next cue.

Overall, this is another winner from the always great Hisaishi, and deserves a place in any soundtrack aficionado's collection. However, those interested in the Spirited Away score might be better off purchasing Milan Records' CD release as opposed to Tokuma's disc. Granted, the packaging here is certainly more appealing, but the Milan version is identical in terms of music selection and retails for a much cheaper price point.
Rating: Star Rating
  1. One Summer's Day
  2. A Road to Somewhere
  3. The Empty Restaurant
  4. Nighttime Coming
  5. The Dragon Boy
  6. Boiler Insect
  7. Procession of the Gods
  8. Yubaba
  9. Morning at the Bathhouse
  10. Day of the River
  11. It's Hard Work
  12. The Stink God
  13. Sen's Courage
  14. The Bottomless Pit
  15. Kaonashi (No Face)
  16. Sixth Station
  17. Yubaba's Panic
  18. The House at Swamp Bottom
  19. Reprise
  20. The Day of Return
  21. Always With Me
    By: Yumi Kimura