Mecha-Godzilla The Album: Against G
International Title
Music By: Various
Record Label: King Records
Running Time: 70:46/75:47 Discs: 2
Release: December 2003 CD Number: KICA-626/7
Robert Storch (Submission)
Released in 2003, this two disc compilation from King Records is a rather interesting release from the company, as it focuses solely on Mechagodzilla music, and also includes a few rare MG themes which were taken from various sources. Now, there are probably people out there who don't care too much for compilation CDs (especially if they own the full, original soundtracks), but I for one have always enjoyed owning certain Japanese compilation discs, as I feel that some of the better ones make an enjoyable listening experience in their own right. This Mechagodzilla set is certainly one of the more unique compilations ever released, and is loaded with a lot of music and sound effects to keep the listener entertained for almost 2 ½ hours.

What's special about this particular release is that besides offering selected cues from all of the Mechagodzilla films which were released from 1974-2003, this set also collects a few rare tracks from various CDs and CD singles which are now out of print. Disc 1 starts off with eight tracks from 1974's Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla which was composed by Masaru Sato. After this comes four different Toho robot monster themes, two of which were taken from The Mysterians (1957) and King Kong Escapes (1967). Next up is seven tracks from 1975's Terror of Mechagodzilla which was composed by Akira Ifukube, followed by one track each from Makoto Inoue's Godzilla Legend and Ifukube's Ostinato. Track 20 features a variety of Mechagodzilla sound effects from the Showa period and runs 3:34 in length.

Disc 2 focuses on the Heisei and Millennium Mechagodzilla films, and starts off with twelve selections from 1993's Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla II which was composed by Godzilla maestro Akira Ifukube, and is one of his all-time best Godzilla scores! Track 13 is a rare promotional song from this film called "Godzilla's Sorrow", recorded by the female group Buka-Buka, and was originally released on a 1993 Sony Records CD single (SRDL-3750). This song is excellent and in my opinion is one of the standout tracks on this CD! It's a very energetic and extremely catchy pop song, and the girls have very pleasant voices - you can even hear Godzilla roaring in the background during the track. Tracks 14 thru 21 are taken from 2002's Godzilla Against MechaGodzilla which was composed by Michiru Oshima, and is arguably the best Mechagodzilla score to date. Unfortunately, there are only two tracks present from Godzilla: Tokyo S.O.S. (2003), but this is probably due to the fact that King Records released it the same year as this compilation set. Track 24 features the Mechagodzilla sound effects from the Heisei period and runs a generous 4:14 in length. The last two tracks are taken from the Godzilla 40th Anniversary Symphonic Concert, which was conducted by Masaru Sato and originally released on CD in 1994 (SLCS-5029).

As for the audio quality these two discs sound excellent, as the tracks appear to have been mastered very well and have nice clarity throughout. I haven't had the opportunity to compare them with their past releases on Futureland or VAP, or with the Godzilla Perfect CDs, but all of the tracks sound great. Regarding the packaging, each disc is housed in its own slimline CD jewel case which fits inside a very attractive cardboard sleeve. The jewel cases have no front or back inserts, but the top of each CD is a nicely designed picture disc, with Disc 1 showing the Showa MG firing its ray and Disc 2 showing the Millennium one doing the same. Interestingly, disc one is labeled as "Hanger 1" actually, and disc two is labeled as "Hanger 2" directly on the CDs and in the booklet. This 15 page booklet is oversized and fits inside the cardboard sleeve, but unfortunately there are no photos, only text printed in Japanese.

As with most King Records CDs which were released earlier this decade or in the 90's, this set is now long out of print and has completely sold out everywhere. If you are someone who currently owns all of the original Mechagodzilla soundtrack CDs, then this set isn't completely necessary to have, unless you want all of the other rare tracks and the sound effects. However, for those people who don't own any or all of the Mechagodzilla scores, then this release makes an excellent sampler from all of those films and throws in some added treats. Highly recommended and worth a listen if you can find it!
Rating: Star Rating
    Disc 1
    Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla (1974)
    Composer: Masaru Sato
  1. Mechagodzilla's Theme
  2. Main Title
  3. Legendary Prophecy - Mechagodzilla's Challenge
  4. Miyarabi's Prayer (Movie Version)
    By: Beru-Bera Lin
  5. The Three Giant Monsters: Battle of Okinawa
  6. Ending
  7. Miyarabi's Prayer
    By: Beru-Bera Lin
  8. Defeat Mechagodzilla
    By: Beru-Bera Lin

    The Mysterians (1957)
    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  9. Moguera Advances

    King Kong Escapes (1967)
    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  10. Mechani-Kong's Sortie

    Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla (1974)
    Composer: Masaru Sato
  11. Mechagodzilla Repaired - Mechagodzilla vs. King Caesar

    Terror of Mechagodzilla (1975)
    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  12. Mechagodzilla 2
  13. Main Title
  14. The Living Dinosaur
  15. The Mafune's Tragedy
  16. Godzilla Appears!
  17. Mechagodzilla Reawakened
  18. Katsura's Death - Ending
  19. Mechagodzilla Sound Effect Collection (Showa Era)

    Godzilla Legend
    By: Makoto Inoue
  20. Godzilla Showdown Series - Extract

    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  21. Premonition of the Invaders
    Disc 2
    Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla II (1993)
    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  1. Introduction
  2. Main Title
  3. G-Force Training Center
  4. Godzilla vs. Rodan
  5. Mechagodzilla Preparation Sortie
  6. Mechagodzilla vs. Godzilla
  7. G-Force March I
  8. Rodan Attacks Sendai
  9. Mechagodzilla Restarts
  10. G-Force March II
  11. Godzilla's Theme
  12. Rolling Titles
  13. Godzilla's Sorrow
    By: Buka-Buka

    Godzilla Against Mechagodzilla (2002)
    Composer: Michiru Oshima
  14. Opening
  15. Godzilla's Landing - Main Title
  16. Akane: Burning Desire to Fight
  17. MG's Theme
  18. Team Kiryu's Theme
  19. Kiryu, Running Wild
  20. Marching Orders
  21. Dragon Clash

    Godzilla: Tokyo S.O.S. (2003)
    Composer: Michiru Oshima
  22. Main Title
  23. Mothra's Song 2003 Version
    By: Masami Nagasawa
  24. Mechagodzilla Sound Effect Collection (Heisei Era)

    Godzilla 40th Anniversary Symphonic Concert
    By: Masaru Sato
  25. Mechagodzilla's Theme
  26. G-Force March