Godzilla X Megaguirus: G Extermination Strategy - Original Soundtrack
International Title
 Godzilla vs. Megaguirus
Music By: Michiru Oshima
Record Label: Victor
Running Time: 50:20 Discs: 1
Release: December 2000 CD Number: VICL-60613
Anthony Romero
This soundtrack introduces composer Michiru Oshima to the Godzilla series, and while this is arguably the least spectacular of her three Godzilla scores, one can't help be impressed by her work for the film. The first thing to notice with the soundtrack is Oshima's new Godzilla theme, introduced here in the first track "Fateful Confrontation", as this drum heavy cue perfectly conveys the towering aspect of the title creature while its easily the most memorable theme to be attached to the creature itself outside of maestro Akira Ifukube's legendary theme. Of course, it's not as powerful as it would be in Godzilla Against Mechagodzilla (2002), which is due primarily to the larger orchestra that production was allotted; however, it still holds up very well in contrast, even withstanding the amount of repetition present in this score. Thankfully, it's not a "lone gem" in this soundtrack either, as there are a number of outstanding cues on this score, including the excellent "Main Title" and the very riveting theme for the Griffon. This also doesn't even begin to touch her amazing work for the climax of this film, which is probably some of my favorite battle music of all time as its an incredibly energetic theme that is reused a number of times during the final confrontation, each with outstanding results. To be honest, the CD doesn't really have a bad cue either, as even the repetitive Meganula theme isn't bad.

The disc ends with the two Ifukube Godzilla themes that were utilized in the film, along with a collection of sound effects related to the production. As far as this release compared to others, well there really isn't much of a reason to own it over the much cheaper, and identical in terms of track selection and order, release by GNP for the score in the US. Well, unless one is particularly swoon by the much more attractive package presentation here. In regards to the "Plus" soundtrack release (NCS-261), its clear from the cue numbers that this score is missing a lot of themes, which that disc corrects; however, none of those are particularly make or break, although regardless more obsessive collectors (guilty as charged myself) will still unavoidably search it out. It is a shame, though, that they just couldn't have included the entire score here, as it would have easily fit. Regardless, still a fine score here and a solid release.
Rating: Star Rating
  1. Fateful Confrontation (M3)
  2. Main Title (M4)
  3. To the G Countermeasures Headquarters (M5)
  4. Operations Area (M6)
  5. The G Extermination Strategy Begins (M9)
  6. The Strange Giant Egg (M12)
  7. Tragedy (M14)
  8. The Resurrected Insect of Ancient Times (M16)
  9. Kiriko and the Boy (M18)
  10. The Griffon Mobilizes (M20)
  11. G Approaches (M21)
  12. The Submerged City (M24)
  13. Godzilla vs. Griffon (M25)
  14. Meganula · Swarm Outbreak (M26)
  15. The Dimension Tide Maneuver (M27)
  16. The Relentless Creatures (M28)
  17. A Painful Life's Work (M31)
  18. The Birth of the Super-Aerial Dragon (M32)
  19. The Ultimate Battle Advent (M36)
  20. Godzilla X Megaguirus (M40)
  21. A Desperate Counterattack (M42)
  22. Earth's Greatest Struggle to the Death (M43)
  23. The Dimension Tide's Limit (M44)
  24. Kiriko's Decision (M45)
  25. Black Hole Gun, Explosion (M46)
  26. The Perfect Conclusion (M47)
  27. Ending Theme (M48)
  28. The Menace of Godzilla
    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  29. Godzilla's Decision
    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  30. SE: Godzilla's Roar (2 Variations)
  31. SE: Godzilla's Footsteps
  32. SE: Godzilla's Ray
  33. SE: Megaguirus' Roar (2 Variations)
  34. SE: Megaguirus' Wings Flapping
  35. SE: Megaguirus High Frequency