Godzilla, Mothra, King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack
International Title
 Godzilla, Mothra and King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack
Music By: Kow Otani
Record Label: Tokuma Japan Communications
Running Time: 57:35 Discs: 1
Release: December 2001 CD Number: TKCA-72279
Anthony Romero
Composer Kow Otani's score for Godzilla's 25th outing has certainly garnered its fair share of advocates and detractors due to Otani's unconventional style, including his use of synthesizers, but by in large this soundtrack marks another great one in the long running series. In fact, there are a number of highly memorable themes here, including the riveting "Main Title" and Otani's excellent military march, which is seen here in cues like "Attack Preparation". Otani also constructs some nice low key themes, such as the quite soothing "God of the Sea: Mothra", which is created through a female chorus, and "The Sleeping Three-Headed Dragon", which is created from a male chorus and sounds appropriately more eerie. However, the disc is a little uneven in spots, although thankfully nothing in particular stands out as being even remotely bad enough to convince one to skip to the next track. To that point, this disc as a whole works very well in its entirety, with the ending Akira Ifukube themes, such as the classic "Godzilla Theme" and the "Great Monster War March" circa Ostinato, really sealing the disc as being highly recommended. More engrossed genre fans will also probably appreciate the inclusion of five sound effect tracks at the end, which is a standard feature on most of the "Millennium era" discs. The ones done for GMK though are a personal favorite of mine, especially the extended roars for Godzilla and the great new effects created for Baragon.

Another aspect of this disc worth mentioning is the booklet, as it contains a wealth of production stills from the movie along with a generous amount of information, all in Japanese of course, on composer Otani. There is also some basic stats for the monsters listed, such as their height and mass, to further complement the booklet. Overall, it's a nice touch, although considering that Tokuma charges more for their single disc releases then most any other label in Japan that I have encountered, something extra is probably not too much to expect.
Rating: Star Rating
  1. Call to Arms
  2. Main Title
  3. The Huge Fang
  4. The Menacing Claw Mark
  5. Incident at the Lake Shore
  6. The Mysterious Old Man
  7. The Giant Foot
  8. The Sleeping Three-Headed Dragon
  9. Dark Vision
  10. God of the Earth: Baragon
  11. The God of Destruction Appears
  12. Terrifying Landing
  13. The Forgotten Horror
  14. Confrontation of the Two Giant Monsters
  15. The Sacred Beast's Ambush
  16. God of the Sea: Mothra
  17. Unleashed Spirits of the War Dead
  18. Attack Preparation
  19. A Tense Moment
  20. God of the Sky: King Ghidorah
  21. GMK
  22. Godzilla's Rage
  23. Determined to Protect the Future
  24. Mysterious Power
  25. The Miracle of the Three Sacred Beasts
  26. A Desperate Crisis
  27. Escape from Godzilla
  28. A Salute to the Spirits of the War Dead
  29. End Roll: Godzilla Theme - Great Monster War March - Main Title
    Composer: Akira Ifukube, Kow Otani
  30. Godzilla Theme
    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  31. Great Monster War March
    Composer: Akira Ifukube
  32. SE Source: Godzilla (Roar, Breath, Ray)
  33. SE Source: Baragon (Roar)
  34. SE Source: Mothra Larva (Roar)
  35. SE Source: Mothra (Roar, Movement Sound)
  36. SE Source: King Ghidorah (Roar, Flight Sound)