Godzilla 2000: Millennium (Perfect Collection 5)
International Title
 Godzilla 2000: Millennium
Music By: Takayuki Hattori
Record Label: Toho Music
Running Time: 76:25 Discs: 1
Release: January 2008 CD Number: G-023 (Set)
Anthony Romero
First, thanks goes to Jessica Stan for sending this in for review!

Godzilla 2000: Millennium marks the second time Takayuki Hattori was given the chance to score for the Godzilla franchise. Debate tends to spring eternal as to which was his better effort between this and Godzilla vs. SpaceGodzilla (1994). General consensus today seems to be in favor of his Godzilla 2000: Millennium, but I found it to be the less interesting soundtrack of the two. Of course, neither were stellar bodies of work in the franchise. To be fair, Hattori is a good composer and soundtracks such as the very hard to find Radio Time (WPC6-8400) show off his talent, but at the same time he seems ill fitted for the world of kaiju and this soundtrack is an example of that.

Now in terms of this score, one thing Hattori has improved on is his subtlety. "In the Ocean Depths" is a perfect example of this, as the theme is soothing yet at the same time doesn't overpower the scene. Still, there are a number of tracks that miss the mark such as "A Sleep of 60 Million Years", which actually starts out great before becoming almost cheesy in its simplicity halfway through. However, the real downfall of this soundtrack is simply that there aren't many cues that stand out. "End Title · The Feared God: Godzilla" is one of the exceptions, although features chorus work that is a little overdone. "The Flight of the Giant UFO 1" is probably the other, although general opinion seems to be polar in regards to it. Some find it one of the worst tracks on the CD, while others praise it. Personally, I find its over the top drum beat and march-like quality to be a welcome change of pace from the rest of the score. The true standout theme from this disc, though, is easily "Organizer - Godzilla's Theme". This cue features Akira Ifukube's wonderful composition from Godzilla vs. Destoroyah (1995), and is a really energetic theme. It perfectly captures the sense of mass of the titular character, and is made all the more rousing when placed against the backdrop of the rest of the soundtrack. For whatever reason, though, this track has been altered a bit from its previous representation. First off, Hattori's "Organizer" was placed at the start of the theme rather than as a separate cue, although an isolated version of "Organizer" is present in the bonus material. Second, the gap of silence in between the two Ifukube themes that were mixed together is a lot longer than the previous release. All in all, the previous CDs presented this theme better, but its presentation here is still an interesting take.

In regards to the new content on this CD, there are a number of cues presented here for the first time. Sadly, many are previous themes with changed tempos. Of the new material, the only theme that will really jump out at the listener will be the unused "Full Metal Missile". The track is a collection of several unused themes that were at one time considered to represent the Full Metal Missile Launchers before being left on the cutting room floor. The rest of the themes are mostly similar to their previously included brethren. Tracks 42-45 are worth mentioning, though, because they are "movie edits", representations of how the score was edited when placed in the film. The reason to bring them up is that Toho Music culled these directly from a copy of the movie. Thankfully, unlike presentations in later CDs, these tracks don't feature any muted dialogue or awkward volume dips. They do lack the clarity of the other themes, but hold up well enough that they were worthwhile inclusions unlike similar tracks found on their Godzilla, Mothra and King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack (G-025) release.

On a closing note, it's worth talking about the titles and tracks on this disc, which is another misfire from Toho Music. First off, the unused cues are actually mixed into the soundtrack. In total, there are six unused cues here, which are tracks 12, 13, 16, 21, 23, 24 and 29. Personally speaking, I prefer the unused material to be included in the bonus section rather than being mixed in with the regular score. Regardless, though, the problem here is that Toho Music can't decide how to handle this, as there are discs in the "Perfect" collection that both have the unused cues mixed in with the normal tracks and also ones that have them appear at the end. There is no consistency. The other problem are the titles themselves. As another inconsistency, Toho Music decided to keep the titles the same across cue numbers and/or sources. So, for example, there are four tracks on this CD called "End Title", only one of which is a bonus track. The worst part about this is that by track 11, on a 51 track CD, one is already hitting the "End Title". Granted, its interesting to see the source, but that's what we have cue numbers for. Track 11 is M39B, which means it was originally part of the ending... there was no reason to name the 11th track into the CD "End Title" on top of that. However, enough ranting about track titles.

Overall, this is actually a fairly middle of the road soundtrack. Its not very memorable, and is probably one of the "lesser Godzilla soundtracks", but all the same it does make for a decent listen now and then. This "perfect box" version is also the best presentation of the score to date. It has some drawbacks, but is still superior to the previous two releases on CD.
Rating: Star Rating
  1. Main Title · Godzilla 2000: Millennium (M1)
  2. The Giant Tail (M2)
  3. Facing Fear (M3)
  4. A Close Call (M4)
  5. Godzilla Appears in Nemuro (M5)
  6. In the Ocean Depths (M6)
  7. A Sleep of 60 Million Years (M7)
  8. The Object From Outer Space: Unusual Phenomenon 1 (M9)
  9. The Self Defense Force Mobilizes (M10)
  10. Godzilla's Theme 2000: Millennium (M34/M11)
  11. End Title · The Feared God: Godzilla (M39B)
  12. Full Metal Missile (M12A-A + M12A-B + M12A-C + M12A-D)
  13. Full Metal Missile Fire (M12B)
  14. The Object From Outer Space: Flight (M13)
  15. Godzilla Lands (M14)
  16. Encounter with the Mysterious Object (M15)
  17. Eerie Silence 1 (M16)
  18. Eerie Silence 2 (M17)
  19. Ominous Premonition (M8/M18)
  20. The Wonder of G Revealed (M20)
  21. The Object From Outer Space: Unusual Phenomenon 2 (M21)
  22. The Flight of the Giant UFO 1 (M22)
  23. The Flight of the Giant UFO 2 (M23)
  24. To Shinjuku (M24)
  25. The Earth Invasion (M25B)
  26. Before the Explosion (M26)
  27. Millennium (M29)
  28. Thinking of Dad (M30A)
  29. 21:10 (M30C)
  30. Millennial Kingdom (M31)
  31. Miraculous Survival (M32)
  32. Organizer - "Godzilla's Theme" (M33 + M33A)
    By: Takayuki Hattori & Akira Ifukube
  33. Extraterrestrial Life: The Birth (M34)
  34. Rising Tension (M12A-D)
  35. Extraterrestrial Life: The Metamorphosis - The Object From Outer Space: Unusual Phenomenon 2 (M36 Top + End)
  36. Astonishing Resurrection (M11)
  37. Millennial Kingdom - The Object From Outer Space: Unusual Phenomenon 1 (M31 + M37A)
  38. G's Decision (M37B)
  39. The Space Monster: Ironic Fate (M38)
  40. End Title · The Feared God: Godzilla (M39A)
  41. End Title · The Feared God: Godzilla (M39C + M21)

    Bonus Tracks
  42. Facing Fear (M3)
  43. Main Title · Godzilla 2000: Millennium (M1)
  44. Millennial Kingdom (M31)
  45. Facing Fear - Millennium (M3 + M29)
  46. Godzilla's Theme 2000: Millennium (M34/M11)
  47. Organizer (M33)
  48. Extraterrestrial Life: The Metamorphosis (M36 Top)
  49. Astonishing Resurrection (M11)
  50. End Title · The Feared God: Godzilla (M Ending)
  51. G's Decision (M11)