IDW Publishing is launching a new ongoing Godzilla series from creative team Duane Swierczynski and Simon Gane. While it retains the continuity of Godzilla: Kingdom of Monsters, the series ushers in new numbering and a new title: Godzilla. This new title is a similar tradition to what is seen from other comic publishers like the shift from the Uncanny X-Men to simply X-Men, sometimes referred to as the “adjectiveless X-Men“. The new series ran for a total of 13 issues from May 23, 2012, to July 10th, 2013, and focused on a team called the “Monster Kill Crew” that tried to take on the various kaiju attacking the world.

This news report is a roundup of the previews for this long series that were provided to Toho Kingdom from IDW Publishing. Of those, worth noting that issue #3 had an overly long preview compared to others. Click on an image to expand to the full page view.

Godzilla #1

Released May 23, 2012.


Godzilla #2

Released June 20th, 2012

[Preview pending]

Godzilla #3

Released July 25th, 2012.


Godzilla #4

Released August 29th, 2012.


Godzilla #5

Released September 19th, 2012.


Godzilla #6

Released October 31st, 2012.


Godzilla #7

Released November 28th, 2012.


Godzilla #8

Released January 9th, 2013.


Godzilla #9

Released January 23rd, 2013.


Godzilla #10

Released February 20th, 2013.


Godzilla #11

Released April 17th, 2013.


Godzilla #12

Released May 29th, 2013.



Godzilla #13

Released July 10th, 2013.


Note the series has a pretty consistent creative team of Duane Swierczynski as the writer and Simon Gane doing both pencil and ink work. The exception to that is Godzilla #6 which had art duties performed by Dave Watcher.